The levels of government

In Australia the three levels of government work together to provide us with the services we need.


Federal government

State government

Local government


The Federal Government is responsible for broad areas of legislation that affect the entire country, including:

  • Foreign affairs
  • Immigration
  • Customs
  • Trade
  • Defence
  • Taxation
  • Post and telecommunications
  • National / interstate highways
  • Centrelink (social services)
  • Banking

The federal government is also responsible for covering some additional areas such as aged care, and private education.


The State Government is responsible for all legislation that isn’t covered by the Federal Government. These are called ‘residual powers’ and include areas like:

  • Health
  • Education
  • Transport
  • Housing
  • Emergency services
  • Water and gas
  • Environment
  • Major state roads
  • Railways
  • Child welfare
  • Justice
  • Consumer affairs
  • Local governments


The Local Governments (usually known as Councils or Shires) are responsible for managing the needs of your local community, including:

  • Footpaths
  • Local roads
  • Garbage collection
  • Town planning
  • Parking
  • Childcare
  • Pet control
  • Street signs and lighting
  • Public facilities like parks, sporting facilities, libraries, and swimming pools.




Each person is represented in the Federal Government by:

  • One MP (sometimes called a member) who serves one electorate or area and sits in the House of Representatives (the lower house of parliament). MPs win their seats for a three-year term.
  • Twelve Senators who represent the entire state. They sit in the Senate (the upper house of parliament). Senators win their seat for a six-year term (half of the Senate seats are put up for election every three years when the lower house election takes place).


Each person is represented in the State Government by:

  • One Legislative Assembly MP (MLA) who serves one electorate or area and sits in the lower house of parliament. MPs win their seats for a four-year term. Four Victorian State Legislative Assembly seats fall in the area that the Federal seat of Nicholls covers.
  • Five Legislative Council MPs (MLC) who represent the entire Northern Victorian region where Nicholls is located. These MPs sit in the upper house of parliament. MPs win their seats for a four-year term.


There are three different local government (council) catchments in the Bendigo electorate. Each person is represented in their local government by:

  • Nine councillors who are elected to the council for a four-year term.
  • The nine councillors who were elected then select a Mayor and Deputy Mayor, to perform roles such as acting as a spokesperson for the council, and performing ceremonial duties.



I am the Federal MP for Nicholls. You can scroll down to Federal Government contact details below to see contact information for the Victorian federal Senators.



Scroll down to State Government contact details below to see contact information for state MPs whose state electorates overlap with the Bendigo federal electorate.



Scroll down to Local Government contact details below to see contact information for councils that fall within, or overlap with, the Bendigo federal electorate.




Federal government 
Who they are Who they represent Phone number Website

Federal MP for Bendigo

Lisa Chesters MP

Represents regions including: Bendigo, Castlemaine, Heathcote, Kyneton. 03 5443 9055 This website.

Federal MP for Nicholls

Damian Drum MP

Represents regions including: Shepparton, Echuca, Yarrawonga, Seymour, Broadford, Rushworth. 03 5821 5371 Link

Federal MP for Mallee

Anne Webster MP

Represents regions including: Mildura, Swan Hill, Horsham, Kerang. 03 5021 5987 Link

Federal MP for McEwan

Rob Mitchell MP

Represents regions including: Kilmore, Wandong, Wallan. 03 9333 0440 Link

Federal Senators

You can see a list of all 12 Federal Senators for Victoria here    


State government
Who they are Who they represent Phone number Website

State Member for Bendigo East

The Hon. Jacinta Allen MP

Represents regions including: Eppalock, Strathfieldsaye, Huntly, Serpentine. 03 5443 2144 Link

State Member for Bendigo West

Maree Edwards MP

Represents regions including: Castlemaine, Maldon, Kangaroo Flat, Golden Square, Long Gully. 03 5410 2444 Link

State Member for Euroa

Steph Ryan MP

Represents regions including: Seymour, Nagambie, Benalla, Kilmore, Stanhope, Heathcote. 03 5762 1600 Link

State Member for Macedon

The Hon. Mary-Anne Thomas MP

Represents regions including: Kyneton, Macedon, Gisborne. 03 5428 2138 Link


Local government contact details
Who they are Phone number  Website
City of Greater Bendigo 03 5434 6000 Link
Mount Alexander Shire Council 03 5471 1700 Link
Macedon Ranges Shire Council 03 5422 0333 Link
Mitchell Shire Council  03 5734 6200 Link